How The Hyundai A-League Came About

February 16, 2011
National League Central
by CST 13

The Hyundai A-League competition is currently Australia’s only soccer League, with it’s inaugural season in 2005 – 2006 it has quickly found a home in Australian hearts leading to a growing interest in Soccer in Australia.

The Australian A-League has come about in leaps and bounds since its inaugural kick off back in 2005 when the Hyundai A-League season kicked off on August 26 in Newcastle. It took close to two years before the greater Australian public realised that A league soccer was here to stay.

Since those early soccer days that were about to make Australian sports history the world has started to take note. Today, A league betting is big business. So much so that every weekend thousands if not millions of dollars are bet on which A-League team will win. A lot is at stake.

Back in the early days of Australian A league soccer the Football Federation Australia (called Australian Soccer Association) sworn to change the landscape of soccer in Australia by installing a specifically made task force to help spread the word of Australian A league soccer. The aim of the task force was to hold a national soccer competition.

From national soccer league to A-league championship:

When the NSL was formed back in 1977 little did the officials know what’s to come over the years. Today the A-league is internationally recognised for its talent of players.

The National Soccer League (NSL) may have been the first all-Australian football competition to grace these shores when it started in 1977, but it was plainly obvious that it needed a major overhaul.

In 2003 the framework was released to invite eight competing national football teams for the competition. The official competition start date was set for August 2005.

By mid June 2004 the board had received 20 bids for the eight spots. One month later there were a total of 12 consortiums who had made a final bid for the coveted eight spaces. These were:

Three bids were received from Melbourne,

Two bids were received from from Sydney

Two bids were received from Brisbane,

One bid was received from each of the remaining preferred cities

One bid was also received from the Central Coast of NSW.

It took three months of careful revision of these bids. Then on November 1, 2004 the eight successful applicants and their major team sponsors were revealed to the Australian public as would become the Hyundai A-League.

These Hyundai A-league Teams were:

Adelaide United

Central Coast Mariners

Melbourne Victory

Newcastle Jets

New Zealand Knights (they have since been replaced by Wellington Phoenix)

Perth Glory

Queensland Roar (they are now known as Brisbane Roar)

Sydney FC.

The first season proved to be extremely popular with the Aussie soccer going crowd. This was mainly to thank major TV exposure and some of the major Qantas Socceroos players returning from overseas. Besides, the A-league was staffed with some 18 overseas imports to help ensure the credibility of the sport.

Since those early A league soccer days the sport has consistently grown in prestige with the public. The FFA has been inundated with many expressions of interest from new clubs to be gain entry into the competition.

The 2009/2010 football season will see 10 teams battle for best with newcomers Gold Coast United and North Queensland. The Hyundai A-League is still in its infant stages. We at Sport Bet Australia look forward with excitement to future years.

If you want to know more on the Hyundai A-League why not head to Sport Bet Australia, it has the latest odds for the next game and all the info you could possibly need on the Hyundai A-League.

Article from

Tags: , , ,