Minnesota Twins Tickets And A Day At Target Field

December 13, 2010

How’s your Minnesota Twins history bank? Are you familiar with how this longstanding team got their original start? Read more to learn how this professional baseball team got its start back in 1894. As one of the first ball clubs to be nationally recognized and accepted as a team in 1894, the Kansas City Blues is actually how the Twins got their start in the Western League. From 1894 to 1900, the name was official then in 1901, the team changed to the Washington Nationals/Senators. It was a name that would take the team through the years to 1960. In 1961, the lasting rename was to the Minnesota Twins; the name the team still holds today.

As members of the American League since 1901 and the Central Division since 1994, the Minnesota Twins have held team colors of navy blue, red and white and donned nicknames like “Nationals” and “Senators” during that naming era. Another shortened name was the “Nats”. Historic parks where the team has played are the American League Park from 1901 to 1902, National Park from 1903 to 1910, Griffith Stadium from 1911 to 1920, Metropolitan Stadium from 1961 to 1981 and the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome from 1982 to 2009.

In their history, the team has won many major league titles. When it comes to World Series titles, the Twins earned this distinction in 1924, 1987 and 1991. They have won six American League Pennants in 1924, 1925, 1933, 1965, 1987 and 1991. The Twins earned Central Division titles in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2009. They also have West Division titles to their credit for the years of 1969, 1970, 1987 and 1991.

With so many titles indicative of the great playing the Twins have done, it should come as no surprise that there is quite a long list of Twins Hall of Famers and more than a couple of numbers that have been retired. These numbers include Harmon Killebrew’s 3, Tony Oliva’s 6, Kent Hrbek’s 14, Rod Carew’s 29, Kirby Puckett’s 34 and Jackie Robinson’s 42; the last of which was retired by baseball. In addition to the aforementioned players who had their number retired and were inducted into the Twins Hall of Fame, other additions include Calvin Griffith, Jim Kaat, Bert Blyleven, Bob Allison, Earl Battey, Frank Viola, Zoilo Versalles, Gary Gaetti, Rick Aguilera and Brad Radke.

Although there have been some dry spells for the Minnesota Twins, they have continued to prove to be quite the force to be reckoned with when it comes to getting on the field and playing some fantastic games. With three World Series Championships under their belt and 17 American League Batting Champions, honor is certainly being given where it’s due.

Target Field, located at 1 Twins Way in Minneapolis, Minnesota is the current home of the Twins. First opened in January, 2010 it will be the first year that the Twins are playing in this new facility. With a seating capacity of 39,504 and a grass playing surface, both exhibition games and the regular season games are planned. As compared to their previous location, the Metrodome, Target Field has fewer seats but offers upgrades like 3,000 club level seats, 820 disabled seating spaces, twice as many lower club seats that are between first and third base, and less than 200 seats with obstructed views. There are also more than twice as many restrooms and more group party suites.

Although construction began in 2007, a year later, there were upgrades announced. These upgrades included a full roof canopy soffit to protect patrons. The scoreboard was also upgraded to one that is 101 feet long by 57 feet; the fourth largest in the world.

Ticket America has your Minnesota Twins tickets for the best seats in the house! Target Field is the new home of the Minnesota Twins and offers a variety of seating choices to suit even the most discriminating patron.

Article from articlesbase.com

Tags: , , , ,